The priorities for CFOs in 2021 were unveiled at the latest DFCG Financium. The year 2020 that we have experienced has put financial indicators for cash management on the podium.

 

What to remember about 2020

The urgency of the situation made it possible to forget about Ebitda and focus on short-term commitments. But also to take into account all the provisions offered to mitigate the impact of the first lockdown. The ultimate objective is to "generate cash".

Indeed, companies have made extensive use of state-guaranteed loans or partial unemployment. As a result, financial departments worked on takeover scenarios with agility and resilience. The winners were those for which the digital transformation had already taken place and the end of the spreadsheets was proven. All of which made it possible to simplify collaboration during the home-office period.

 

New priorities for 2021

The beginning of 2021 is still marked by a feeling of uncertainty weighing on a large number of activities. The exceptional situation we are experiencing tends to be a long-term one, with new directions for financial management. The barometer established by PWC and the DFCG on the priorities of CFOs maintains performance management as THE priority for the coming year. But, not surprisingly, Cash Management has moved up to 2nd place.

I am used to say that the subject of Cash Management fluctuates in the ranking according to current events; I had hoped for a 1st place for the year 2021. Firstly, because "Cash Culture" must accelerate its deployment within organisations. And above all because Cash is everyone's business in a company.

 

Emergence of useful tools for CFOs

The emergence of new tools makes it possible to simplify and automate the follow-up, to avoid the strong Intuitu Personae models made with spreadsheets by CFOs or treasurers.

Thus, the finance team needs to work collaboratively to produce easily:

  • Cash reporting to understand its consumption,
  • The main WCR indicators to monitor them and build an action plan with all the company's departments,
  • A 3, 6 and 12-month rolling cash flow forecast to anticipate decisions and financing needs,
  • Different operational scenarios to measure the impact on cash.

 

Cashlab advantage

The production of this information has enabled Cashlab's clients:

  • For some, to anticipate the repayment of their EMP and avoid an impact on their net debt at the closing of their accounts at the end of 2020,
  • For others, to postpone the expected recovery of their activity and complete this work with an optimisation and cost reduction plan.

But let's remain positive, the stakes for 2021 remain high for the financial departments. Because with hindsight on the suddenness of the 2020 crisis, they are in a battle order on the actions to be taken and the tools to be found.

 

Closely monitor your cash flow in a clear and optimised manner with out Cashlab tool.

Les priorités des DAF en 2021 ont été dévoilées lors du dernier Financium de la DFCG. L’année 2020 que nous avons connue, a mis sur le podium des indicateurs financiers relatifs au pilotage du Cash.

 

Ce qu’il faut retenir de 2020

L’urgence de la situation a permis d’oublier l’Ebitda pour se concentrer sur les engagements à court terme. Mais aussi de prendre en compte toutes les dispositions offertes pour atténuer l’impact du premier confinement. L’objectif ultime étant de « générer du Cash ».

En effet, les entreprises ont eu recours en masse aux prêts garantis par l’état ou au chômage partiel. De ce fait, les directions financières ont travaillé sur les scénarios de reprises avec agilité et résilience. Les gagnantes ont été celles pour lesquelles la transformation digitale avait déjà été opérée et la fin des tableurs avérée. Le tout permettant ainsi une collaboration simplifiée en période de télétravail.

 

Les nouvelles priorités pour 2021

Le début de l’année 2021 reste marquée par un sentiment d’incertitude pesant sur un grand nombre d’activités. La situation exceptionnelle que nous connaissons tend à s’inscrire dans le temps, et avec, de nouvelles orientations pour les directions financières. Le baromètre établi par PWC et la DFCG sur les priorités des DAF maintient le pilotage de la performance comme LA priorité de l’année à venir. Mais, sans grande surprise, la Gestion du Cash se hisse au 2nd rang.

J’ai coutume de dire que le sujet de la Gestion du Cash oscille dans le classement en fonction de l’actualité ; j’eus espéré un 1er rang pour l’année 2021. D’abord, parce que la « Culture Cash » doit accélérer son déploiement au sein des organisations. Et surtout parce que le Cash est l’affaire de tous dans une entreprise.

 

L’émergence des outils utiles aux directeurs financiers

L’émergence de nouveaux outils permet d’en simplifier et automatiser le suivi, pour éviter les modèles à fort Intuitu Personae réalisés avec des tableurs par les directeurs financiers ou les trésoriers.

Ainsi, l’équipe finance doit travailler de manière collaborative pour produire facilement :

  • Un reporting Cash pour en comprendre la consommation,
  • Les principaux indicateurs BFR pour en assurer le suivi et construire un plan d’action avec tous les services de l’entreprise,
  • Une prévision de trésorerie à 3, 6 et 12 mois glissants, pour anticiper les décisions et les besoins de financement,
  • Différents scénarios opérationnels pour en mesurer l’impact sur le Cash.

 

L’avantage Cashlab

La production de ces informations a permis aux clients de Cashlab :

  • Pour certains, d’anticiper le remboursement de leur PGE et d’éviter un impact sur leur dette nette à la clôture de leurs comptes fin 2020,
  • Pour d’autres, de différer la reprise attendue de leur activité et compléter ce travail d’un plan d’optimisation et de réduction des coûts.

Mais restons tout de même positifs, les enjeux 2021 restent importants pour les directions financières. Car avec le recul pris sur la soudaineté de la crise de 2020, celles-ci sont en ordre de bataille sur les actions à mener et les outils à trouver.

 

Suivez de près votre trésorerie de manière claire et optimisée avec notre outil Cashlab.