HomeNewsThe impact of the war in Ukraine on Cash management

INTERVIEW of Benjamin Madjar
Head of Cash Sales & Structuring EMEA, at Deutsche Bank

Benjamin Madjar provides an insightful analysis of the economic consequences of the war in Ukraine, and the repercussions on businesses. Although the current geopolitical context is destabilizing economic activity in the region, solutions are available to French companies affected.

 

How are companies affected by the geopolitical context?

"It is impossible not to view the current situation with compassion and concern, particularly in view of the atrocious daily life that these populations must endure. Despite this dark context, I will limit myself to trying to decipher the the impacts of the conflict on cash management. Barely recovered from the sanitary crisis, the Cash flow of French companies has been severely tested since the beginning of the war in Ukraine.

 

On the one hand, some companies are exporting to Ukraine, Belarus and/or Russia, and sometimes even have establishments in the region. On the other hand, some companies are facing problems related to energy costs, which are particularly burdensome for the so-called "energy-intensive" industries.

The main issue of this situation (beyond the complete stop of the activities in the above mentioned countries) is the supply chain as well as the difficulties of supplying the companies.

 

Many factories in Russia have stopped working, forcing some sectors to change suppliers. Also, some companies have simply stopped their activity in Russia and still have to transfer funds locally (i.e. onshore) to help the local resources."

 

What questions should you ask yourself if you are concerned?

"In the case of an international company that sells or buys in Russia, a few questions should be asked:

 

  • Do I comply with the sanctions enacted by the United States, the United Kingdom, the European Union, or l’OFAC (American financial control agency) ? These sanctions concern particularly Russian banks and companies.
  • Can I cash Russian customers locally (knowing that Visa and Mastercard have ceased their activity there)? Can I receive transfers from Russian customers' accounts?
  • Can I transfer my local (onshore) cash in Ruble (RUB) to an account in this currency but located in another country (offshore)?
  • Are the amounts in RUB offshore at risk? Should I convert them to EUR or USD, or another currency?

 

Companies with links to the region are not the only ones affected. Indeed, like consumers, companies are also affected by rising electricity and gas prices."

 

What solutions for French companies?

"The government has announced an economic and social resilience plan to help companies facing the economic consequences of the conflict in Ukraine. This 7 billion euro aid plan will help the most affected sectors and will be managed on an individual basis, according to the needs of the companies.

 

One of the key measures of this plan is the return of the state-guaranteed loan (PGE) for companies in difficulty, which will be able to borrow up to 35% of their sales revenue. This measure is expected to provide relief from rising electricity and gas bills. It will only be available from July 1st until December 31st.
Eligible companies can, however, take advantage of the current PGE, still in effect until June 30th, 2022. BPI France also offers loans for heavily impacted industries, mainly in the construction and public works sectors. Unlike the PGE, the repayments of these loans will be spread over 10 years.

 

Another measure that concerns all French people, individuals or professionals, is a fuel discount of 15 cents per liter on the price at the pump, from April 1st 2022 for a period of 4 months.

Finally, exporting companies that:

  • see their energy bill increase by 40% or more,
  • whose electricity and gas expenses represent more than 3% of their turnover, will be able to benefit from a state aid. The latter will cover half of the additional cost of energy expenses..

Although these short-term measures will give French companies a break, this situation highlights the energy dependence of France, and more globally of Europe.

 

For more information on the resilience plan, we invite you to visit the government website and the resilience plan.

 

Together, let's join forces to help Ukraine

It is impossible to publish this article without mentioning the human consequences of this war. For all those who wish to help the Ukrainians 🟨🟦 find the list of existing initiatives here: https://www.weukraine.fr/#database

 

Written by Eléonore Berne, on 23/03/2022.

Read more...

©2023 All rights reserved. | Cashlab | Legal Notice

INTERVIEW de Benjamin Madjar
Responsable Cash Sales & Structuring EMEA, chez Deutsche Bank

Benjamin Madjar apporte une analyse éclairée sur les conséquences économiques de la guerre en Ukraine, et des répercussions sur les entreprises. Bien que le contexte géopolitique actuel déstabilise l’activité économique de la région, des solutions s’offrent aux entreprises françaises touchées.

 

Comment les entreprises sont-elles touchées par le contexte géopolitique ?

“Impossible de ne pas appréhender la situation actuelle avec compassion et inquiétude, notamment face à l’atroce quotidien que doivent subir les populations. Malgré ce contexte noir, je me limiterai à essayer de décrypter les impacts du conflit sur la gestion de trésorerie. A peine remise de la crise sanitaire, la trésorerie des entreprises françaises est mise à rude épreuve depuis le début de la guerre en Ukraine.

 

D’un côté, certaines entreprises exportent en Ukraine, en Biélorussie ou en Russie, et parfois même disposent d’implantations dans la région. De l’autre, des entreprises font face aux problèmes liés aux coûts de l’énergie. Ces derniers représentent d’ailleurs, une charge particulièrement lourde pour les industries dites « énergo-intensives ».

Le grand enjeu de cette situation, (au-delà de l’arrêt complet des activités dans les pays pré-cités) est la supply chain ainsi que les difficultés d’approvisionnement des entreprises.

 

De nombreuses usines en Russie ont arrêté de fonctionner, obligeant certains secteurs à changer de fournisseurs. De même, certaines enseignes ont tout simplement cessé leur activité en Russie mais doivent encore transférer des fonds localement (c’est-à-dire onshore). Notamment pour aider les ressources locales encore présentes.”

 

Quelles questions faut-il se poser si on est concerné ?

“Dans le cas d’une entreprise internationale qui vend ou achète en Russie, il convient de se poser quelques questions :

 

  • Est-ce que je respecte les sanctions édictées par les États-Unis, le Royaume-Uni, l’Union Européenne, ou l’OFAC (organisme de contrôle financier américain) ? Celles-ci concernent notamment les banques et entreprises russes.
  • Puis-je encaisser des clients russes localement (sachant que Visa et Mastercard ont cessé leur activité sur place) ? Puis-je recevoir des virements depuis des comptes de clients russes ?
  • Est-ce que je peux transférer ma trésorerie locale (onshore) en Rouble (RUB) vers un compte dans cette devise mais situé dans un autre pays (offshore) ?
  • Est-ce que les montants en Rouble offshore sont à risque ? Dois-je les convertir en EUR ou USD, ou une autre monnaie ?

 

Les entreprises en lien avec les acteurs de la région ne sont pas les seules touchées. En effet, comme les consommateurs, les entreprises subissent également la hausse du prix de l’électricité et du gaz.”

 

Quelles solutions pour les entreprises françaises ?

“Le gouvernement a annoncé un plan de résilience économique et social pour venir en aide aux entreprises faisant face aux conséquences économiques de la guerre en Ukraine. Ce plan d’aide de 7 milliards d’euros viendra en aide aux secteurs les plus touchés. De manière individualisée, ce plan d’aide fera fonctionnera par besoin des entreprises.

 

Une mesure phare de ce dispositif est le retour du prêt garanti par l’état (PGE) pour les entreprises en difficultés, qui pourront emprunter jusqu’à 35% de leur chiffre d’affaires. Cette mesure devrait soulager les factures d’électricité et de gaz qui ne cessent d’augmenter. Elle est néanmoins disponible qu’à partir du 1er juillet jusqu’au 31 décembre 2022,
Les entreprises éligibles peuvent néanmoins profiter dès maintenant du PGE actuel, toujours en vigueur jusqu’au 30 juin 2022. La BPI France propose également des prêts destinés aux industriels fortement impactés, principalement les secteurs du bâtiment et des travaux publics. A la différence du PGE, les remboursements de ces derniers s’étaleront sur 10 ans.

 

Une autre mesure qui concerne tous les Français, particuliers ou professionnels, est une remise de carburant de 15 centimes par litre sur le prix à la pompe. Cette mesure prendre effet dès le 1er avril 2022 pour une durée de 4 mois.

Enfin, pour les entreprises exportatrices qui :

  • voient leur facture d’énergie augmenter de 40% ou plus
  • dont les dépenses d’électricité et de gaz représentent plus de 3% de leur chiffre d’affaires, pourront bénéficier d’une aide de l’État. Cette dernière prendra en charge la moitié du surcoût des dépenses énergétiques.

Bien que ces mesures court terme vont permettre aux entreprises françaises de souffler, cette situation met en lumière la dépendance énergétique de la France. Et plus globalement de l’Europe.

 

Pour plus d’informations sur le plan de résilience, nous vous invitons à aller consulter le site du gouvernement et le plan de résilience.

 

Ensemble, aidons l’Ukraine

Il nous est impossible de publier cet article sans évoquer les conséquences humaines de cette guerre. Pour tous ceux qui souhaitent venir en aide aux Ukrainiens 🟨🟦 retrouvez la liste des initiatives existantes ici : https://www.weukraine.fr/#database

 

Rédigé par Eléonore Berne, le 23/03/2022.