Stéphane Ravel, asset manager specialized in equity management at Le Conservateur, explained for Cashlab the notion of cash in asset management.Asset Management.​

Can you tell us about CASH in Asset Management?

For investors, the notion of CASH is fundamental. Indeed, the CASH is the basis of the main method of valuation of an asset, a fortiori a company. This method is the DCF, Discounted Cash Flow, with which the sum of future cash flows is discounted today. This is how we get a valuation of the company.

This method is more absolute than the MULTIPLE method (Price/Earnings Ratioused in relative terms. It compares one company to another, one sector to another. 

Note that managers are increasingly relying on a CASH equivalent of this ratio, the FCF YIELD. It represents the return of a stock in relation to the FCF generated over the desired year. This last method therefore allows for relative performance while keeping CASH at the center of the valuation."

 

Have there been any recent developments that have accelerated this shift to a CASH CULTURE?

"In my opinion, the growing share of PRIVATE EQUITY funds in the M&A of listed companies has been a gas pedal for the profession. The principle of these funds is to leverage the target as much as possible. That is to say, to use the cash generated to meet the debt repayment exclusively (no need to pay shareholders).

Finally, the objective is to transform the initial debt into EQUITY over their investment period. Thus, even without increasing the acquisition multiple (non-CASH multiple, essentially Enterprise Value/EBITDA), the value creation for the fund is enormous once the company is sold.

This requires very detailed monitoring and very effective CASH tracking tools. This is particularly important in order to be able to meet repayment obligations, regardless of the operational situation of the acquired company. This culture has gradually become imposed among all asset managers.."

 

In your daily life, do you also do this follow-up?

"Of course! Managers now use many operational indicators related to CASH. They are the key to our forecasts. Even if in the listed universe, debt repayment is not the only objective, the interests are aligned. The improvement of the operating FCF gives the company the opportunity to finance its investments (CAPEX) to ensure:

  • organic growth in sales
  • acquisitions to ensure external growth in sales (a way to accelerate growth)
  • the repayment of the debt (case of PRIVATE EQUITY)
  • or shareholder remuneration (via a dividend or share buyback plans, the latter being an Anglo-Saxon culture)

Consequently, all the components of the operating cash flow are analyzed by the managers."

 

Companies too?

"Yes, that's exactly what has evolved recently. These KPIs are given 2 to 4 times a year by listed companies, during their quarterly or half-yearly publications, or even both. We talk about Cash Conversion, Organic Free Cash Flow... But now, the focus is on the components of these KPIs, and not only on the investments (the CAPEX).

 

Investors want to understand and anticipate the need for working capital and especially its evolution. Here again, KPIs such as the need in days of turnover, the stock in turnover... Upstream, the company must therefore be equipped to ensure this monitoring, make forecasts, and give perspectives (guidelines) to investors and respect them!

 

The manager must therefore ensure that the company invests in decision support, because here again the interests align!"

 

Closely monitor your cash flow in a clear and optimised manner with out Cashlab tool.

Stéphane Ravel, gérant d’actifs spécialisé dans la gestion ACTIONS chez Le Conservateur, revient pour Cashlab sur la notion de Cash dans l’Asset Management.​

Pouvez-vous nous parler du CASH dans l’Asset Management ?

« Chez les investisseurs, la notion de CASH est fondamentale. En effet, le CASH est la base de la principale méthode de valorisation d’un actif, a fortiori une entreprise. Cette méthode est le DCF, Discounted Cash Flow, avec laquelle on actualise aujourd’hui la somme des flux futurs de trésorerie. On en tire ainsi une valorisation de l’entreprise.

Cette méthode est plus absolue que celle des MULTIPLES (Price/Earnings Ratio) utilisée en relatif. Qui, elle, compare une entreprise à une autre, un secteur à un autre. 

À noter que les gérants s’appuient de plus en plus sur un équivalent CASH de ce ratio, le FCF YIELD. Il représente le rendement d’une action par rapport au FCF généré sur l’année désirée. Cette dernière méthode permet donc de faire du relatif tout en gardant le CASH au centre de la valorisation. »

 

Y a-t-il eu des évolutions récentes qui ont accéléré ce passage à une CULTURE CASH ?

« Selon moi, la part grandissante des fonds de PRIVATE EQUITY dans le M&A des entreprises cotées a été un accélérateur pour la profession. Le principe de ces fonds est de « leverager » au maximum la cible. C’est-à-dire utiliser le CASH généré pour faire face exclusivement au remboursement de la dette (plus besoin de rémunérer les actionnaires).

Finalement, l’objectif est de transformer la dette de départ en EQUITY sur leur période d’investissement. Ainsi, même sans augmentation du multiple d’acquisition (multiple non CASH, essentiellement Entreprise Value/EBITDA), la création de valeur pour le fonds est énorme une fois l’entreprise revendue.

Cela suppose un monitoring très fin et des outils de suivi du CASH très efficaces. Afin notamment de faire face au remboursement des échéances quelle que soit la situation opérationnelle de l’entreprise acquise. Cette culture s’est peu à peu imposée chez tous les gérants d’actifs. »

 

Dans votre quotidien, faites-vous également ce suivi ?

« Bien entendu ! Les gérants utilisent désormais de nombreux indicateurs opérationnels liés au CASH. Ils sont la clé de nos prévisions. Même si dans l’univers coté, le remboursement de la dette n’est pas le seul objectif, les intérêts sont alignés. L’amélioration du FCF opérationnel laisse la possibilité à l’entreprise de financer ses investissements (CAPEX) pour assurer :

  • la croissance organique du CA
  • des acquisitions pour garantir une croissance externe du CA (une manière d’accélérer la croissance)
  • le remboursement de la dette (cas du PRIVATE EQUITY)
  • ou la rémunération des actionnaires (via un dividende ou des plans de rachats d’actions, cette dernière étant d’une culture anglo-saxonne)

Par conséquent tous les éléments constitutifs de l’operating cash flow sont analysés par les gérants. »

 

Les entreprises aussi ?

« Oui, c’est justement ça qui a évolué récemment. Ces KPIs sont données 2 à 4 fois par an par les entreprises cotées, lors des publications trimestrielles ou semestrielles, voire les deux. On parle de Cash Conversion, Organic Free Cash Flow… Mais désormais, l’attention se porte vers les éléments constitutifs de ces KPIs, et plus seulement les investissements (le CAPEX).

 

Les investisseurs souhaitent comprendre et anticiper le besoin en fonds de roulement et surtout son évolution. Là encore fleurissement des KPIs comme le besoin en jours de CA, le stock en CA… En amont, l’entreprise doit donc s’équiper pour assurer ce suivi, faire des prévisions, et donner des perspectives (des guidances) aux investisseurs et les respecter !!

 

Le gérant doit donc veiller à ce que l’entreprise investisse dans l’aide à la décision, car là encore les intérêts s’alignent ! »

 

Suivez de près votre trésorerie de manière claire et optimisée avec notre outil Cashlab.