Treasurers are facing major challenges. In order to meet them, their operating methods will be called into question. They will focus on tasks with high added value, linked to anticipation, and their mission will evolve. In particular, thanks to the availability of connected solutions (e.g. payment solutions, payment related services), with upstream systems (order to cash in particular) for the business. This development will take place more or less rapidly. Depending on the development of new technologies (digitisation of cash), new payment methods and regulations for example.

 

Transforming cash flow: what has worked over the last ten years

The changes that have taken place over the last ten years have enabled companies' treasuries to better manage financial risks (the primary mission of a treasury department):

  • Better visibility on their cash by centralising liquidity: cash pooling, payment "on behalf of"
  • Better transaction security: Automation of front-to-back processes, electronic exchanges with banks (SWIFT messages, etc.), bulk payments, etc.
  • But also, greater efficiency and expertise : Centralisation of treasury activities via regional or even global centres. And the development of shared service centres for tasks with lower added value, process automation, etc.
  • The implementation of new tools to optimise working capital: supplier financing, factoring, etc.

And the use of new financial instruments to optimise the cost of debt and foreign exchange risk hedging.

All this is made possible by the development of standardised processes and the implementation of treasury IS. They are not very "customisable", however, and are less flexible to adapt to the ever-changing needs of the treasuries.

 

Under the constraint of a treasury IS, the emergence of new methods

Some treasuries have taken advantage of this to rethink their cash management structures. By rationalising, for example, the number of banks and accounts. They are setting up "virtual accounts" or foreign exchange/FX management modules, adapted to their geographical footprint.

At the same time, they have also rethought their supplier payments to reduce the frequency of payments, cut costs (especially FX) and optimise their working capital. But the major subject of the last few years has been the reconciliation: how to optimise it? The answer can be found in several solutions: dedicated IS, virtual accounts, Swift Gpi... In this context, future developments may bring new solutions - but also constraints - such as Instant payment.

 

Challenges 2.0 for company treasuries

Corporate treasuries are facing a new revolution: digitalisation (accelerated, 2.0, 4.0). This is sometimes encouraged by regulation (Open banking globally and PSD2 in Europe). The latter provides a framework for offering new services and solutions to consumers while at the same time controlling the risks of fraud and protecting merchants. These changes are based on an accelerated development of technology, particularly in terms of connectivity and APIs.

This in a context of increasingly volatile and uncertain markets and a changing regulatory environment (data protection, BEPS, tax reform in the United States, export controls, abolition of LIBOR...). Cybercrime is growing and waves of acquisitions are emerging, which may have a strong impact on the changes already made. For example, those in liquidity management, which requires a large mobilisation of the treasury teams.

 

Response to the digital revolution: the questioning of known models

This revolution is accelerating with the emergence of new technologies, "real time" payment methods and new players. Together, they are challenging and will challenge, to varying degrees and on different horizons, the models deployed by B-to-B corporations and treasuries:

  • New business model for B2B corporations

The business models of B2B corporations will evolve. With the possibility to reach the consumer directly via marketplaces and new payment methods (instant payment, DPS2, mobile payment).
This will have a very strong impact on the process order to cash (redesign). An eco-system with new players (PSP, Fintech, GAFA) will be inserted between the bank and the corporate to offer services around cash collection directly to the business. They could then question the classic banking model of "collection" under the pressure of business. The corollary would be the emergence of new counterparty risks, payment security risks and uncontrolled collection costs (stacking of players).

It is therefore essential for the treasuries to be proactive and to be involved in a number of developments:

  • Those of the process order to cash,
  • The design of new value chains,
  • The selection of PSPs and other actors.

The banking relationship will therefore evolve. The service expected from banks is no longer collection but services associated with collection: new means of payment, "real time" payment information. In this context, treasuries and banks have no choice but to adapt to remain dominant players. Banks will have to be able to respond to these new service needs with the necessary agility.

Some banks (including Deutsche Bank) have undertaken major changes and investments to meet the needs of their customers and the market. The recent announcements on a new payment solution (Request to Pay) in the airline industry is a good example of this.

  • Digitisation of treasuries

An internal digital revolution is imminent in treasuries:

  • Real time" in liquidity management. With open banking and instant payments: flows will be 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
    It will be essential for treasuries to analyse the impact on the management of their liquidity and their operating methods,
  • Artificial Intelligence/Robotica/BI: they should make it possible to increase the level of automation, and therefore efficiency, to develop predictive analyses (cash flow forecasts for example) and to set up a dynamic management layer (dashboards),
  • Blockchain/Signature Electronic/EDM for some contracts: documentary credits, KYC, account opening documentation which are real problems for treasurers,
  • API, TPP, eWallets,
  • API : they open up the possibility of exchanging information with banks, Fintech, PSP in "real time" and call into question the scope of functionalities of existing IT systems.
    The prerequisite is to have a stable and functioning "STANDARD" transactional IT system covering all treasury operations.

In fine, with all its (r)evolutions, it is important to know whether treasurers are going to digitise their management processes or digitise their profession/user experience.

 

Different impacts for different business models

Conclusion: the impact on cash flow will be different according to the corporate and cash flow business models. These changes make the Treasurer's activities more complex. These challenges are all the more important as the implementations will go through :

  • The evolution of current Treasury SI, which are partly obsolete and cumbersome to develop (incompatible with the agility required to meet business needs) and which will require substantial budgets,
  • Strong change management in organisations and teams with the need for new profiles:
    • Process engineers in charge of designing solutions with the business and delivering them
    • Mathematicians for the development of predictive analysis, for example.
  • The identification of strong players with a presence beyond the region,
  • In-company training for business contributors, IS/IT, treasurers on the new players, technologies and new means of payment that are still too little known,
  • Awareness at the level of the financial departments on the digital stakes in the treasuries.
  • The mobilisation of budgets to accompany these changes in a context of strong pressure to reduce costs.

 

In any case, the Treasurer's positioning has never been so strategic and digitalisation 2.0 will only reinforce his necessary involvement in the company's management processes.

 

Closely monitor your cash flow in a clear and optimised manner with out Cashlab tool.

Les Trésoriers sont face à des défis de taille. Pour les relever, leurs modes de fonctionnement vont être remis en cause. Ils vont se concentrer sur des tâches à haute valeur ajoutée, liées à l’anticipation et leur mission va évoluer. Notamment, grâce à la mise à disposition de solutions connectées (ex : solutions de paiement, de services autour du paiement), avec des systèmes amont (order to cash en particulier) à destination du business. Cette évolution interviendra plus ou moins rapidement. En fonction de l’évolution des nouvelles technologies (digitalisation des trésoreries), des nouveaux moyens de paiement et de la réglementation par exemple.

 

Transformation de la trésorerie : ce qui a fonctionné ces dix dernières années

Les transformations intervenues ces dix dernières années ont permis aux trésoreries des entreprises d’avoir une meilleure gestion des risques financiers (mission première d’une trésorerie), notamment :

  • Une meilleure visibilité sur leur cash en centralisant la liquidité : cash pooling, paiement « pour compte de »
  • Une meilleure sécurité des transactions : automatisation des process front to back, échanges électroniques avec les banques (messages SWIFT…), paiements de masse
  • Mais aussi, une plus grande efficience et expertise : centralisation des activités de trésorerie via des centres régionaux, voire mondiaux. Et le développement de shared service centers pour les tâches à moindre valeur ajoutée, automatisation des process
  • La mise en place de nouveaux outils pour optimiser le working capital : supplier financing, factoring, etc.

Et l’utilisation de nouveaux instruments financiers pour optimiser le coût de la dette et de la couverture du risque de change.

Tout ceci étant rendu possible par le développement de processus standardisés et la mise en œuvre de S.I de trésorerie. Peu “customisables”, elles sont en revanche moins flexibles pour s’adapter aux besoins toujours nouveaux des trésoreries.

 

Sous la contrainte d’un S.I de trésorerie, l’émergence de nouvelles méthodes

Certaines trésoreries en ont profité pour repenser leurs structures de cash management. En rationalisant, par exemple, le nombre de banques et de comptes. Elles mettent en place des « comptes virtuels » ou modules de gestion du change/FX, adaptés à leur empreinte géographique.

En parallèle, elles ont aussi repensé leurs paiements fournisseurs pour réduire la fréquence des paiements, réduire les coûts (notamment de FX) et optimiser leur BFR. Mais le sujet majeur des dernières années a été le rapprochement : comment l’optimiser ? La réponse se trouve dans plusieurs solutions : SI dédié, comptes virtuels, Swift Gpi… Dans ce contexte, les évolutions à venir pourront apporter de nouvelles solutions – mais aussi des contraintes – telle que l’Instant payment.

 

Les challenges 2.0 des trésoreries d’entreprise

Les trésoreries d’entreprise doivent faire face à une nouvelle révolution : la digitalisation (accélérée, 2.0, 4.0). Celle-ci est parfois encouragée par la réglementation (Open banking globalement et PSD2 en Europe). Cette dernière pose un cadre pour proposer de nouveaux services et solutions aux consommateurs tout en souhaitant maîtriser les risques de fraudes et protéger les marchands. Ces évolutions reposent sur un développement accéléré de la technologie, notamment en matière de connectivité, d’API.

Ceci dans un contexte de marchés de plus en plus volatils et incertains et dans un environnement réglementaire changeant (protection des données, BEPS, réforme fiscale aux Etats-Unis, contrôle des exportations, suppression des LIBOR…). La cybercriminalité se développe et des vagues d’acquisitions surgissent, pouvant fortement impacter les transformations déjà effectuées. Par exemple celles dans la gestion de la liquidité, ce qui demande une grande mobilisation des équipes de trésorerie.

 

Réponse à la révolution digitale : la remise en cause des modèles connus

Cette révolution s’accélère avec l’émergence de nouvelles technologies, de moyens de paiement permettant le “real time” et de nouveaux acteurs. Ensemble, ils remettent et vont remettre en cause à des degrés divers et sur des horizons différents, les modèles déployés par les corporates en B-to-B et les trésoreries :

  • Nouveau business model pour les corporates B2B

Les business models des corporates B-to-B vont évoluer. Avec la possibilité de toucher directement le consommateur via des marketplaces et nouveaux moyens de paiement (instant payment, DPS2, paiement par mobile).
Ceci aura un impact très fort sur le process order to cash (redesign). Un éco-système avec de nouveaux acteurs (PSP, Fintech, GAFA) s’intercalera entre la banque et le corporate pour proposer des services autour de l’encaissement directement au business. Ils pourraient alors remettre en cause le modèle bancaire classique « d’encaissement » sous la pression du business. Ceci aurait pour corollaire l’émergence de nouveaux risques de contrepartie, de sécurité des paiements, et des coûts d’encaissement non maîtrisés (empilement d’acteurs).

Il est donc essentiel que les trésoreries soient force de proposition et soient associées dans de plusieurs évolutions :

  • Celles du process order to cash,
  • Le design des nouvelles chaînes de valeur,
  • La sélection des PSP et autres acteurs.

La relation bancaire va de ce fait, évoluer. La prestation attendue des banques n’étant plus un encaissement mais des services associés à l’encaissement : nouveaux moyens de paiement, informations liées aux paiements en « temps réel ». Les trésoreries et les banques, dans ce contexte, n’ont pas d’autre choix que de s’adapter pour rester des acteurs prépondérants. Les banques devront avoir la capacité à répondre à ces nouveaux besoins de service avec l’agilité nécessaire.

Certaines banques (dont Deutsche Bank) ont engagé de vastes changements et des investissements conséquents pour répondre aux besoins de leurs clients et du marché. Les récentes annonces sur une nouvelle solution de paiement (Request to Pay) dans le secteur aérien en est un bon exemple.

  • Digitalisation des trésoreries

Une révolution interne du digital est imminente dans les trésoreries :

  • Real time” dans la gestion de la liquidité. Avec l’open banking et les instant payments : les flux seront 24h/24, 7J/7.
    Il sera essentiel que les trésoreries analysent les impacts sur la gestion de leur liquidité et leurs modes de fonctionnement,
  • Intelligence artificielle/Robotique/BI : ils devraient permettre d’augmenter le niveau d’automatisation, donc l’efficience, de développer des analyses prédictives (cash flow forecasts par exemple) et permettre de mettre en place une couche de pilotage dynamique (dashboards),
  • Blockchain/Signature Électronique/GED pour certains contrats : crédits documentaires, KYC, documentation d’ouverture de compte qui sont des vrais problèmes pour les trésoriers,
  • API, TPP, eWallets,
  • API : ils ouvrent la possibilité d’échanger des informations avec des banques, Fintech, PSP en “real time” et remettent en cause le périmètre des fonctionnalités des S.I existants.
    Le prérequis étant d’avoir un S.I transactionnel « STANDARD » stable qui fonctionne, couvrant l’ensemble des opérations de trésorerie.

In fine, avec toutes ses (r)évolutions, il est important de savoir si les trésoriers vont digitaliser leurs processus de gestion ou digitaliser leur métier/expérience utilisateur.

 

Des impacts différents pour des business models différents

Conclusion : les impacts sur les trésoreries seront différents selon les business models du corporate et de la trésorerie. Ces évolutions complexifient les activités du Trésorier. Ces défis sont d’autant plus importants que les mises en œuvre passeront par :

  • L’évolution des S.I actuels, qui sont en partie obsolètes et lourds à faire évoluer (incompatibilité avec l’agilité nécessaire pour répondre aux besoins business) et qui demanderont des budgets conséquents,
  • Un fort management du changement dans les organisations et les équipes avec le besoin de nouveaux profils :
    • Des ingénieurs processus en charge de concevoir des solutions avec le business et les livrer
    • Des mathématiciens pour le développement d’analyses prédictives, par exemple.
  • L’identification des acteurs solides avec une présence au-delà de la région,
  • Une formation dans l’Entreprise des contributeurs business, IS/IT, trésoriers sur les nouveaux acteurs, technologies, nouveaux moyens de paiement encore trop méconnus,
  • Une prise de conscience au niveau des directions financières sur les enjeux digitaux dans les trésoreries
  • La mobilisation de budget pour accompagner ces changements dans un contexte de pression forte sur la réduction des coûts.

 

Dans tous les cas, le positionnement du Trésorier n’aura jamais été aussi stratégique et la digitalisation 2.0 ne fera que renforcer sa nécessaire implication dans les processus de gestion de l’entreprise.

 

Suivez de près votre trésorerie de manière claire et optimisée avec notre outil Cashlab.