HomeExpert adviceVirtual accounts for cash management

Amongst our ecosystem of experts, François Masquelier (CEO of SimplyTREASURYdeciphered virtual accounts in his article "How virtual could the bank accounts be?" in the #107 "Interconnectivity" issue of ATEL's "Treasurer" magazine. Here is a look at this concept that helps financiers manage their cash flow.

Virtual bank accounts have been widely developed over the last few years, offering companies the opportunity to create and manage their cash flow more easily. It seems important to clarify this concept, which is still evolving today.

Virtual bank accounts function as sub-accounts attached to a physical account. A physical account that settles transactions and carries the consolidated balance of all related virtual accounts.
Virtual IBANs are also associated with a physical account that centralises all incoming payments. The difference is that an IBAN is assigned to each transaction, so that the issuer and beneficiary of the payment are automatically identified. It is then possible to allocate an IBAN data range to a specific department or subsidiary of the company.

 

What are the benefits for companies?

The main advantage for treasuries is the ease of creating and managing accounts online. While banks retain control of the physical account. This reduces the number of bank accounts, while allowing businesses to open as many virtual accounts as they need.

A virtual account has many other advantages and benefits:

  • Can be an alternative to traditional cash management solutions,
  • Helps centralise treasury functions,
  • Can be a substitute for cash management tools,
  • Reduces costs while increasing efficiency,
  • Improves the Straight-Through Processing reconciliation process,
  • Simplifies banking relationships by reducing the number of accounts,
  • Harmonises the virtualisation of all its accounts.

They provide better visibility and control of incoming and outgoing payments. This is achieved through a simplified and streamlined account structure.

However, the concept of virtual accounts is not new. In fact, services similar to virtual accounts have existed before, addressing specific needs of corporate treasurers.

In an ever-changing world, with increasingly stringent regulations and a focus on cost reduction, interest in virtual accounts has intensified.
Indeed, the costs associated with bank accounts continue to rise. In addition, KYC ("Know Your Customer") controls are demanding more and more effort. But also transparency and disclosure of customer information.

 

Efficient In-House Banking

Although the concept is not new, only a few multinationals have successfully built and run in-house banking services.
However, the implementation of In-House Banking (IHB) requires time and significant investment. Before the Payment Services Directive* came into force, some companies even tried to get a banking licence to do IHB.

It is possible that virtual bank accounts will become the basis for internal corporate banking systems. With this, companies can streamline and control the management of their bank accounts. That is, open, close, modify, or manage bank accounts in seconds. This, without having to fill out a ton of administrative forms.

This is done by first streamlining accounts by closing all accounts opened for accounting purposes within a legal entity. Then, at a higher level within a group of companies, virtualise and use Payment On Behalf Of/Collection On Behalf Of.
This is not only useful for managing and sorting debts and receivables. It is useful for building a new type of liquidity management called cash pooling. This is a centralised cash management technique used by companies with several subsidiaries. The advantage to this action is to optimise the cash balances of all legal entities. Cash is held natively in the main account and the virtual accounts represent the different balances related to the subsidiaries.

With In-House Banking, the payment is directly transferred by the head office on behalf of its subsidiary and generates transactions within the group. With virtual accounts, treasurers could even imagine a single bank account per currency to manage 100% of their cash in an IHB..

*regulates payment services and their suppliers within the European Union

 

Bank account virtualisation for more efficient cash management

One of the issues in processing incoming payments from virtual accounts is the differentiation made between the beneficiary* and the legal entity**. As far as compliance is concerned, this is fairly well handled by EU regulations and practices, but this is not the case worldwide.

Even then, bank account virtualisation at the legal entity level brings many benefits, alongside the traditional tools already in use. Obviously, the power and size of the system, as well as good integration with your ERP play an important role. This requires organisation, discipline and new support processes. If you no longer use a local bank, then the treasury becomes the only point of contact. It risks being inundated with questions from the local entities. That is, bank account virtualisation is not only a question of computer technology, but also of organisation and process implementation.

*who holds the virtual account
**who holds the bank account

 

What to remember

In conclusion, it is possible to use virtual bank accounts to set up an internal banking service. In particular with payments and collections on behalf of:

  • native cash pooling ,
  • internal short-term loans,
  • centralized international trade management,
  • and netting (clearing of currency inflows and outflows).

So far, the concept of virtual accounts has been misrepresented or misnamed by banks. Virtual accounts offer benefits to corporate treasuries: improved cash management and a better overview of corporate accounts. This gives the treasurer a more influential and strategic role in the organisation. Now that Virtual Account Management (platforms) offer a simple, out-of-the-box solution, interest in virtual bank accounts will increase significantly. They really have the ability to reinvent cash management by supporting treasurers.

 

Written by Eléonore Berne, on 30/03/2022.

Read more...

©2022 All rights reserved. | Cashlab | Legal Notice

AccueilConseilsLes comptes virtuels au service de la trésorerie

Parmi notre écosystème d’experts, François Masquelier (CEO de SimplyTREASURY) a décrypté les comptes virtuels dans son article “How virtual could the bank accounts be?” dans le numéro #107 “Interconnectivity” du magazine “Treasurer” d’ATEL. Retour sur ce concept qui accompagne les financiers dans la gestion de leur trésorerie.

Les comptes bancaires virtuels se sont largement développés ces dernières années, proposant aux entreprises de créer et gérer plus facilement leur trésorerie. Il semble important de clarifier ce concept, toujours en pleine évolution aujourd’hui.

Les comptes bancaires virtuels fonctionnent comme des sous-comptes rattachés à un compte physique. Compte physique qui lui, règle les transactions et porte le solde consolidé de tous les comptes virtuels qui lui sont liés.
Les IBAN virtuels sont également associés à un compte physique qui centralise tous les encaissements. A la différence qu’un IBAN est attribué à chaque opération, pour que l’émetteur et le bénéficiaire du paiement soient identifiés automatiquement. Il est alors possible d’attribuer une plage de données d’IBAN à un département ou une filiale spécifique de l’entreprise.

 

Quels avantages pour les entreprises ?

L’avantage principal pour les trésoreries est la facilité de créer et gérer des comptes en ligne. Pendant que les banques gardent le contrôle du compte physique. Cela permet de réduire le nombre de comptes en banque, tout en permettant aux entreprises d’ouvrir autant de comptes virtuels que nécessaire.

Un compte virtuel présente d’autres nombreux avantages et bénéfices :

  • Peut être une alternative aux solutions traditionnelles de Cash management,
  • Aide à centraliser les fonctions de trésorerie,
  • Peut être un substitut aux outils de gestion des liquidités,
  • Réduit les coûts tout en augmentant l’efficacité,
  • Améliore le processus de réconciliation de traitement direct (Straight-Through Processing)
  • Simplifie les relations bancaires en réduisant le nombre de comptes,
  • Harmonise la virtualisation de tous ses comptes.

Ils apportent une meilleure visibilité et un meilleur contrôle des paiements entrants et sortants. Et ce, grâce à une structure de compte simplifiée et rationalisée.

Le concept de comptes virtuels n’est pourtant pas nouveau. En effet, il existait déjà avant des services ressemblant aux comptes virtuels, qui répondaient à des besoins spécifiques des trésoriers d’entreprises.

Dans un monde en constante évolution, avec des régulations de plus en plus strictes et une attention particulière pour les réductions de coûts : l’intérêt pour les comptes virtuels s’est intensifié.
En effet, les coûts liés aux comptes en banque ne cessent d’augmenter. De plus, les contrôles KYC (« Know Your Customer ») demandent de plus en plus d’efforts. Mais également de transparence et de divulgation d’informations des clients.

 

Des services bancaires internes (In-House Banking) performants

Bien que le concept ne soit pas nouveau, seules quelques multinationales ont réussi à construire et gérer des services bancaires internes.
Cependant, la mise en place du In-House Banking (IHB) nécessite du temps et des investissements importants. Avant l’entrée en vigueur du Payment Services Directive*, certaines entreprises ont même essayé d’obtenir une licence bancaire pour faire du IHB.

Il est possible que les comptes bancaires virtuels deviennent la base des systèmes bancaires internes en entreprises. Avec cela, les entreprises peuvent rationaliser et contrôler la gestion de leurs comptes bancaires. C’est-à-dire ouvrir, fermer, modifier, ou gérer les comptes bancaires, en quelques secondes. Ceci, sans avoir à remplir une tonne de formulaires administratifs.

Pour cela, il faut d’abord rationaliser les comptes en fermant tous ceux ouverts pour la comptabilité au sein d’une entité légale. Puis, à un niveau plus élevé dans un groupe d’entreprises, virtualiser et utiliser les paiements et encaissements pour compte de (Payment On Behalf Of/Collection On Behalf Of).
Ce n’est pas seulement utile pour gérer et trier les dettes et les créances. Cela est utile pour construire un nouveau type de gestion de liquidité appelé cash pooling. C’est une technique de gestion de trésorerie centralisée, utilisée par les entreprises ayant plusieurs filiales. L’avantage à cette action est d’optimiser les soldes de trésorerie de l’ensemble des entités légales. Les liquidités sont détenues nativement sur le compte principal et les comptes virtuels représentent les différentes balances liées aux filiales.

Avec le In-House Banking, le paiement est directement transféré par le siège au nom de sa filiale et génère des transactions au sein du groupe. Avec des comptes virtuels, les trésoriers pourraient même imaginer un seul compte bancaire par devise pour gérer 100% de leur trésorerie dans un IHB.

*régule les services de paiement et leurs fournisseurs au sein de l’Union Européenne

 

La virtualisation des comptes bancaires pour plus d’efficacité dans la gestion de trésorerie

L’une des problématiques dans le traitement de paiements entrants des comptes virtuels est la différenciation faite entre le bénéficiaire* et l’entité légale**. Concernant la conformité, c’est un sujet assez bien géré par les régulations et pratiques de l’Union Européennes, mais ce n’est pas le cas dans le monde entier.

Même dans ce cas, la virtualisation des comptes bancaires au niveau de l’entité légale apporte de nombreux avantages, en parallèle des outils traditionnels déjà utilisés. De toute évidence, la puissance et la taille du système, ainsi que la bonne intégration avec votre ERP jouent un rôle important. Cela demande de l’organisation, de la discipline et des nouveaux processus de support. Si vous ne faites plus appel à une banque locale, la trésorerie devient alors le seul point de contact. Elle risque d’être inondée de questions par les entités locales. C’est-à-dire que la virtualisation des comptes bancaires n’est pas seulement une question de technologie informatique, mais aussi d’organisation et de mise en place de processus.

*qui détient le compte virtuel
**qui détient le compte bancaire

 

Ce qu’il faut retenir

Pour conclure, il est possible d’utiliser les comptes bancaires virtuels pour mettre en place un service bancaire interne. Notamment avec des paiements et encaissements pour compte de :

  • un cash pooling natif,
  • des prêts internes court-terme,
  • une gestion des échanges internationaux centralisée,
  • et du netting (compensation des entrées et sorties de devises).

Jusqu’ici, le concept de comptes virtuels a été faussement représenté ou mal nommé par les banques. Les comptes virtuels offrent des bénéfices aux trésorerie d’entreprise : une amélioration de la gestion de trésorerie et un meilleur aperçu des comptes d’entreprise. Ce qui donne un rôle plus influent et stratégique au trésorier dans l’organisation. Maintenant que les plateformes de gestion de comptes virtuels (Virtual Account Management) offrent une solution simple, prête à l’emploi, l’intérêt pour les comptes bancaires virtuels va significativement augmenter. Ces derniers ont réellement la capacité de réinventer la gestion de trésorerie en accompagnant les trésoriers.

 

Rédigé par Eléonore Berne, le 30/03/2022.

Lire aussi..