As the crypto-currency ecosystem is rocked by an unprecedented crisis, financial players are wondering about its future. A look back at the collapse of Luna and the consequences for the entire crypto-currency market.

A little history...

A digital currency that needs no introduction, crypto-currency is not as recent as one might think. Reminder of the key dates:

  • 1995 : creation of the 1st electronic currency, Digicash, by David Chaum ;
  • 1998 : creation of Bit Gold (precursor of Bitcoin) by Nick Szabo;
  • 2008-2009 : creation of Bitcoin by an anonymous person under the pseudonym Satoshi Nakamoto, whose name is still unknown to this day.

Today, there are a multitude of crypto-currencies. The most famous are:

  • Bitcoin (BTC)
  • Ether (ETH)
  • Binance Coin (BNB)
  • Tether (USDT)
  • Solana (SOL)
  • XRP (XRP)
  • Cardano (ADA)
  • USD Coin (USDC)

 

Why are we talking about a crypto-currency crisis?

While they were seen as the currency of tomorrow, the future of crypto-currencies has become uncertain.

Although Bitcoin had already been in decline for several months, the crisis really started mid-May 2022 with the fall of a Stablecoin. Crypto-currency whose value is indexed to that of another financial asset (mainly the euro or the dollar), it is presented as the stable alternative to Bitcoin.

 

 

So what happened?

It's no secret that the instability of the current situation is the result of several months of a difficult geopolitical context.
  
 
Recently, inflation has destabilised financial markets, including crypto-currencies. Bitcoin has already paid the price. Despite being more stable, Stablecoin has still been affected by Bitcoin's decline.
Indeed, the Stablecoin TerraUSD (UST) has de-correlated with the dollar, falling from $1 on May 9 to $0.13 on May 13. Faced with this drop, users took fright and sold their assets massively. In response, Luna, the crypto also used by the Terra blockchain, collapsed.
 

 

Crisis of confidence

Like any financial crisis, the crypto-currency collapse created panic among some investors. Especially among the newer ones, who got scared by the historic drops in crypto-currency. Unlike more experienced investors, who, investing for the long term, believe instead in a temporary crisis.

This crisis of confidence has spread to the entire market.

As a result, crypto-currency lending platforms have faced lack of liquidity problems. To name just one, Celsius, the leading lender in the ecosystem, even had to suspend Bitcoin withdrawals completely. So did Binance, the world's largest crypto-currency exchange platform.
Some platforms have been heavily impacted, such as Coinbase. Indeed, the platform was forced to lay off 18% of its workforce.

 

The crisis in figures

  • 2,060 billion dollars

That's the loss of the entire industry since November 2021. No, no, that's not a typo. The market capitalisation has indeed fallen from $3 trillion in November to $940 billion on June 13. Nevertheless, it should be noted that it has since recovered $25 billion to a market capitalisation of $965 billion..

The market has seen historic declines, especially the two leading crypto-currencies in terms of market capitalization: the Bitcoin and the Ether.

  • Bitcoin has lost nearly 70% of its value in 8 months.

That alone. While it reached its highest value in November 2021, $68,990, it fell below $20,000 on June 18. Nevertheless, since June 24, it has experienced a slight increase that puts it around $21,000.

  • Ether is following a similar pattern to Bitcoin.

After reaching an all-time high of $4,878 last November, its value has fallen. On June 18, it recorded a historic drop to below 1,000 dollars. That is a loss of 70% of its value in 8 months. Today, it has timidly increased and reached a value above 1,200 dollars.

 

What future for crypto-currencies?

The crypto-currency crisis is far from over, and it will take time to recover.

The founder of the exchange platform Binance, Changpeng Zhao, confided: "It will probably take several months or even years" to get back to Bitcoin's pre-crisis values.

The speed of crypto-currency collapses has further highlighted the volatility of the market. Despite this, crypto-currency remains a particularly used asset in Web 3.0. Land purchases, NFT sales... More and more major retailers are investing in the metaverse, where digital assets play a central role. As a result, payment in crypto-currency will be the next challenge for big brands. To be continued. 

Article written by Eléonore Berne, on 28/06/2022

Read more...

Alors que l’écosystème des crypto-monnaies est secoué par une crise sans précédent, les acteurs financiers s’interrogent sur son avenir. Retour sur l’effondrement de Luna et les conséquences sur l’ensemble du marché des crypto-monnaies.

Un peu d’histoire

Monnaie numérique qu’on ne présente plus, la crypto-monnaie n’est pas si récente que ce que l’on pourrait penser. Rappel des dates clés :

  • 1995 : création de la 1ère monnaie électronique, Digicash, par David Chaum ;
  • 1998 : création de Bit Gold (précurseur du Bitcoin) par Nick Szabo ;
  • 2008-2009 : création du Bitcoin par un anonyme sous le pseudonyme Satoshi Nakamoto, dont le nom est toujours inconnu à ce jour.

Aujourd’hui, il existe une multitude de crypto-monnaies. Les plus connues étant :

  • Bitcoin (BTC)
  • Ether (ETH)
  • Binance Coin (BNB)
  • Tether (USDT)
  • Solana (SOL)
  • XRP (XRP)
  • Cardano (ADA)
  • USD Coin (USDC)

 

Pourquoi parle-t-on de crise des crypto-monnaies ?

Alors qu’elles étaient vues comme la monnaie du futur, l’avenir des crypto-monnaies est devenu incertain.

Bien que le Bitcoin était déjà en baisse depuis plusieurs mois, la crise a véritablement démarré mi-mai 2022 avec la chute des Stablecoins. Crypto-monnaie dont la valeur est indexée à celle d’un autre actif financier (euro ou dollar principalement), elle est présentée comme l’alternative stable au Bitcoin.

 

 

Alors, que s’est-il passé ?

Ce n’est un secret pour personne, l’instabilité de la situation actuelle est le résultat de plusieurs mois d’un contexte géopolitique difficile.
  
 
Dernièrement, l’inflation a déstabilisé les marchés financiers, dont les crypto-monnaies. Le Bitcoin en a déjà fait les frais. Malgré une meilleure stabilité, le Stablecoin a tout de même été touché par la baisse du Bitcoin.
En effet, le Stablecoin TerraUSD (UST) s’est décorrélé du dollar, passant de 1 dollar le 9 mai à 0,13 dollar le 13 mai. Face à cette chute, des utilisateurs ont pris peur et ont vendu leurs actifs en masse. En réaction, Luna, la crypto également utilisée par la blockchain Terra, s’est effondrée.
 

 

Crise de confiance

Comme toute crise financière, la chute des crypto-monnaies a créé un vent de panique chez certains investisseurs. Particulièrement chez les plus récents, qui ont pris peur face aux chutes historiques de la crypto-monnaie. Contrairement aux investisseurs plus expérimentés, qui, investissant sur le long terme, croient plutôt à une crise passagère.

Cette crise de confiance s’est répandue à l’ensemble du marché.

De ce fait, des plateformes de prêts de crypto-monnaies ont été confrontées à des problèmes de manque de liquidité. Pour n’en citer qu’une, Celsius, principal prêteur de l’écosystème, a même dû suspendre complètement les retraits de Bitcoin. Tout comme Binance, la plus importante plateforme d’échanges de crypto-monnaies au monde.
Certaines plateformes ont été très impactées, à l’instar de Coinbase. En effet, la plateforme s’est vu contrainte de licencier 18% de sa main-d’œuvre.

 

La crise en chiffres

  • 2 060 milliards de dollars

C’est la perte de l’ensemble du secteur depuis novembre 2021. Non, non, ce n’est pas une faute de frappe. La capitalisation boursière est bien passée de 3.000 milliards de dollars en novembre à 940 milliards le 13 juin. Néanmoins, il faut noter qu’elle a depuis récupéré 25 milliards de dollars pour atteindre une capitalisation de 965 milliards.

Le marché a connu des baisses historiques, notamment les deux principales crypto-monnaies en termes de capitalisation boursière : le Bitcoin et L’Ether.

  • Le Bitcoin a perdu près de 70% de sa valeur en 8 mois.

Rien que ça. Alors qu’elle atteignait sa plus haute valeur en novembre 2021, 68 990 dollars, elle est passée en dessous des 20 000 dollars le 18 juin. Néanmoins, depuis le 24 juin, elle connaît une légère hausse qui la place autour des 21 000 dollars.

  • De son côté, l’Ether suit un schéma similaire à celui du Bitcoin.

Après son plus haut niveau jamais atteint en novembre dernier, 4 878 dollars, sa valeur a chuté. Le 18 juin, elle enregistrait une baisse historique allant en dessous des 1 000 dollars. Soit une perte de 70% de sa valeur en 8 mois. Aujourd’hui, elle a timidement augmenté et atteint une valeur au-dessus des 1 200 dollars.

 

Quel avenir pour les crypto-monnaies ?

La crise des crypto-monnaies est loin d’être finie, et il faudra du temps pour s’en remettre.

C’est ce qu’a confié Changpeng Zhao, fondateur de la plateforme d’échange Binance : « Cela prendra probablement plusieurs mois voire années » pour retrouver les valeurs d’avant crise du Bitcoin.

La rapidité des effondrements de crypto-monnaies a mis davantage en lumière la volatilité du marché. Malgré cela, la crypto-monnaie reste un actif particulièrement utilisé dans le web 3.0. Achats de terrains, ventes de NFT… De plus en plus de grandes enseignes investissent dans le metaverse, où les actifs numériques jouent un rôle central. De ce fait, le paiement en crypto-monnaie sera le prochain challenge des grandes marques. Affaire à suivre. 

Article rédigé par Eléonore Berne, le 28/06/2022.

Lire aussi..